Fun with Sun…and paper and cotton and seeds and a slinky…

cotton on sun paperOkay…I know I haven’t posted my exploration assignment for the week. I loaned my book to a friend a few weeks ago (I took photos of the assignments) and I ran out of photos this week. So, I will do two assignments next week!

But…this is just as exciting! I walked in to the studio the other day and my friend Megan and her handsome son forced me (ha!) to play with sun sensitive paper with them. We gathered up all manner of items from our studios and snuck into one of the unfinished studios where it was dark. We arranged our items on the paper and then ran the papers to sun spots by the door and window. After a minute or so we dumped the items on the floor and went tearing down the hall to the sinks. A plunge in cold water stopped the photo reaction on the papers…and this is the result!

Clockwise from top left: small sculptures made from strings and glue, slinky, cotton, castor bean pods and seeds

Clockwise from top left: small sculptures made from strings and glue, slinky, castor bean pods and seeds, cotton

 

