Cracks! [what I find when I look down]

This is a fun one: Week 8: Exploration #8

Document the cracks in your neighborhood….

So naturally, I took my camera out on my walk to work (can my neighborhood be a mile long?)! And let me tell you…my world has come alive with cracks..they are everywhere! And oh are they beautiful…

crack in the asphaltThere were long cracks and short cracks and cracks that were parallel to each other and cracks that ran away from each other…cracks that ask you to follow them until they end who knows where…

white cracks in the asphaltThis beautiful arrangement of cracks filled with crystals from the last snow…

web of cracksThe side of the road has started to sink…what lives beneath the cracks? What stirs under the darkness of the asphalt?

cracks in the drivewayI can’t wait until spring when the things growing out of these cracks turn green. The web that’s created with the cracks reminds me of the web of blue veins on my thigh, on my arm, that I can see when my skin is no longer tan from the summer sun.

wide cracksThis cracks let’s us see what’s inside – shows us its bones and what it’s collected over the years…

parallel cracksParallel cracks and perpendicular cracks…cracks that run with each other for a while and cracks that go their own way and dance their own dances…wide cracks and skinny cracks. Is a wide crack more valid than a tiny hairline crack? More beautiful?

crater cracksCracks that started as cracks and have now become craters and islands. Cracks that have their own textures and create little ecosystems…There’s a world that lives in each crack, how close do we have to look to see this?

succinct cracksCracks that know exactly where they are going…they have direction, they collect just what they need on their journey, and they just may leave us asking why…

patched cracksCracks that have been discovered and repaired, only to crack again because that’s what they do. A crack is a crack and just wants to be a crack…

crack with plantAnd this little crack, with its sprightly little plant, went for quite a walk, creating a beautiful line on its way…

