World of Color

Exploration Experiment #7: WORLD OF COLOR

Okay…this week is a fun one – I need to document the colors from my favorite book, my dreams and/or my memories

As soon as I read this one, my mind started to dance. A little peek into who I am: my favorite book is Fox in Socks by Dr. Seuss…

My dreams are the most vivid form of visual entertainment I have in my life. And I often close my eyes to recapture moments, times and places from my past. Here goes…

3 nights ago I dreamt of two women giving me 3 containers of dye for cotton that were still warm and steaming – one was a brilliant purple/fuchsia that proceeded to soak into and climb its way up a cotton scarf…the bottom of the scarf was deep and rich and the top was a light hue that bled into the cream of the scarf.

2 nights ago I dreamt of a twisted hank of yarn that was the color of bleached bones or aged, weathered bits of tree branch without the bark on.

When I was a child I had a recurring dream in sepia tones where my little sister jumped out of the back of our old Bonneville, ran down a hill and splashed into a deep pool full of thick black waters. By recurring I mean nearly once a week for months. Always in the same sepia tones with the same black waters…

My husband and I took off for Nova Scotia for our honeymoon…we picnicked on a cliff overlooking the blue, blue ocean and watched the sun slip over the waves. The heathery, hazy pink bleeding into the depths of the ocean will always remain with me.

I am struck by the blue of the sky. Out the window of my studio, through the curtain in my kitchen, behind trees on my walks, through my sunglasses, under the clouds, behind buildings, little peeks of it here and there…I will forever be in awe of that color.

Interesting, but not the least bit surprising, most of my color memories are deeply seated in nature…

