Collecting mental objects and the moon

The exploration assignment for this week (which, I apologize, I am late posting) is as follows:

THE FIRST THING YOU SEE

Create a collection based on the very first object you find on your daily walk to/from work…then find the connection between said collected objects…

So I started thinking…and if you know me…you know that I think and think and think until perhaps one couldn’t think anymore, and I think a bit beyond that.

I decided I have enough items I’ve collected over the years and that perhaps I shouldn’t add more random collected items to my stash. And then I was thinking about what I collect when I am walking and it hit me – I collect mental objects and images, thoughts, poems written hastily under the old fir tree while toeing through freshly fallen snow, memories replayed over new mental pictures of the same old tree I pass everyday, one-sided conversations that will never happen because it’s just me working through life in my head, sounds of the earth breathing and trees growing, a color palette that changes daily with the sun, clouds and shadows, a thousand closed eyelids over the elusive moon…me trying to capture that bright spot in the dark night sky…that spot I’ve been pining after for years upon years and have never fully captured and will never quite grasp…

I’m collecting observations, an awareness of the physical as much as the emotional and spiritual, collecting the idea that I am growing older, that my thoughts and words mean something, that what I say and think contains value, that beauty can be experienced and shared, that one can never, ever underestimate what can and will happen and that life is a train – catch it before it slips over the hills and into the valley and make sure to get a window seat and soak in everything you see…

And last but not least, sometimes my most treasured items come to me, rather than me finding them. Meet Jericho, my cactus. A dear friend gave me Jericho tonight to celebrate my birthday. I named him and then decided to look up the meaning of Jericho - some believe it was derived from the word meaning "moon". Perfect.

And last but not least, sometimes my most treasured items come to me, rather than me finding them. Meet Jericho, my cactus. A dear friend gave me Jericho tonight to celebrate my birthday. I named him and then decided to look up the meaning of Jericho – some believe it was derived from the word meaning “moon”. Perfect.

 

