Exploration #4: My Collection (and a red bird)

My Collection

My Collection

WEEK 4: EXPLORATION #4: COLLECT OBJECTS ONLY ON YOUR WALK TO WORK (TRY TO FIND 30)

Things I Collected

  • Big Leaf
  • 3 Little Leaves
  • 3 Helicopter Seeds
  • Handful of Pine Needles
  • Prickly Branch
  • Short Branch
  • Smooth Branch that looks like a woman’s leg
  • Wood Chips
  • Tree Bark
  • Big Papery Pine Cone
  • Small Papery Pine Cone
  • Squirrel-chewed Core of an Ear of Corn
  • Puffed Dandelion Head
  • Dried Flower Head
  • Exploded, Chewed Yellow Mechanical Pencil
  • Key Chain (Pink, Plastic)
  • Small Gray Rock with White Stripe
  • Small Charcoal Rock (triangular)
  • Chunk of Brick
  • Soft, Smooth Red Rock
  • Flat Brown Rock
  • Piece of Blue Linoleum
  • Red Plastic Dial
  • Chunk of Hose
  • Fake Red Bird
  • Large Bolt
  • Smashed Metal Clip
  • Silver Sticker
  • Bud Light Bottle Cap
  • End of Blue Lighter
  • Smashed Green Metal
  • Metal Piece with Rubber
  • Broken Green Glass
  • Rusted Circle
  • Smashed, Rusted Bottle Cap
  • Pop Tab

Thoughts

  • concerned I wouldn’t find 30 objects, I found 41 in one walk
  • surprised by the distinction I made between what was okay for me to pick up and what was not okay for me to pick up
  • drawn to natural items
  • found myself looking mostly down, missed a lot of things that were up
  • saw a smashed orange and a smashed, frozen can of salsa
  • interesting how the collection changes by the angle we look at it
  • organized items by both material and color – without even thinking about it
  • found myself making up stories for the objects (especially the bird)
  • started thinking of “mental objects,” those things we see but simply cannot take with us (large old spruce trees and how they hold the darkness at night – their size and shape and depth in the dark)
collection from the "natural objects" angle

collection from the “natural objects” angle

 

How can you not make up stories about this lovely red bird?!

How can you not make up stories about this lovely red bird?!

 

I wonder how many anxieties are represented in this simple piece of plastic. What was the situation behind the chewing of the pencil...and how did it end up in the alley next to the red bird?

I wonder how many anxieties are represented in this simple piece of plastic. What was the situation behind the chewing of the pencil…and how did it end up in the alley next to the red bird?

 

If we change the angle at which we view something, our level of experience can be greatly altered.

If we change the angle at which we view something, our level of experience can be greatly altered.

 

And finally, the red bird. What a fun object to have found on my walk. Totally unexpected, original and exciting...a flash of red for my muted collection.

And finally, the red bird. What a fun object to have found on my walk. Totally unexpected, original and exciting…a flash of red for my muted collection.

 

