A Ristra!

image

One thing I love about Nebraska is the fertile soil, especially the soil at my parents’ farm. A dear friend once said that you could just drop some seeds and they would grow and multiply. When the writer and I visit, we can count on leaving with fresh fruit and veggies. I love to “prepare for winter” by putting up the bounty from the earth, trying out new recipes for jams, dried foods and frozen concoctions.
We arrived the other day to a box and 5 gallon pail of hot peppers. Oh boy, what a treat! Another thing I love about Nebraska is the generosity of its people…the peppers were a gift to my mom from her co-worker. The peppers are hot for sure, so I roasted most of them under the broiler. I froze them to use in tasty soups this winter.
There were too many to freeze, so I thought I would try my hand at making a ristra to dry and store the peppers. They turned out pretty, but don’t look too close!
Here’s a photo of the roasted peppers bagged and ready for the freezer. I can’t wait for soup!

image

