A pretty pitcher [or how to grow celery on your windowsill without seeds]

The sun has been shining consistently here with temperatures in the 60s for several days now. I believe that if spring wants to share its glory with us here in Colorado, it had better be able to deliver! (I think we’re stilling going to have a little winter party before spring truly sets in : )

And what does spring mean to a tried-and-true-dirt-digging-farm-girl like me? Garden time. As a child my family had three huge gardens, one for each kid. My parents had decided that if the vegetable came from “our” garden, we’d be more likely to want to eat it. And it worked. We all love vegetables to this day. We also understand how much work goes into the food we eat. And how delicious true, sun raised, organic food can be. That said, I do not buy tomatoes from the grocery store. I cannot bring myself to spend the money on those funny colored, cardboard stand-ins for vine-ripened, still warm, juicy explosions of sweet tomato flesh. Okay, enough about tasty tomatoes. I want to talk about celery.

I was reading the magazine Mother Earth News the other day, which is a super cool magazine about “living wisely” from organic food to green living to DIY. And I came across as article about planting, growing and enjoying celery. Now, I have never grown celery but am always up for learning and love a good challenge. At the very end of the article, which can be found here, there are instructions for growing celery from the root end of the stalk you get from the store. So, this is what I did:

  • Buy a bundle of organic celery.
  • Cut off the root end about one inch from the end.
  • Wrap the stalks and place in fridge to enjoy at your leisure.
  • Place the root end to half its depth in a prepared pot filled with moist soil.
  • Set on a sunny windowsill and wait.

And sure enough, about 2 weeks after planting my celery end a few little bright green leaves started to emerge. When they get to be about 8 inches tall, I will harvest them and hope a few more come poking out. (The article says the roots that grow on this celery end cannot support a full stalk, so small stalks it is!) And now for a few pictures of these cute little green leaves reaching for the sun:

