It’s my Birthday…

Greetings and Happy Day! Today is my birthday so I put this together for you:

List of thoughts for my 27th year…

  • I should have had cake for breakfast: except that handsome writer of mine made me breakfast in bed- one scrambled egg with mushrooms and feta cheese, multi-grain toast with a touch of butter, a cutie already peeled, and a cup of tasty hot coffee. The cake will have to wait!
  • Birthdays are days full of possibilities and excitement: but so is everyday! I am living my dream (one of them : ) and each day is different and unique and special in its own right. Working for myself means I decide what needs to get done and what order to do it all in, if something doesn’t get done, there must have been something more important that needed to happen. Sometimes that’s a picnic in the January sun or a cup of steaming coffee in a snuggly chair with a magazine…
  • I am so thankful for all the birthday wishes, I am truly blessed to have met so many wonderful people on my journey. Thank you to all of you- you are each special to me!
  • One of my goals (a big one you could say) was to be an internationally-known artist by the age of 27. Today marks the first day of my 27th year. I have a bit of work to do on this one…but it is what it is and I’m having fun doing it!
  • Give myself a birthday present. That said, the writer and I aren’t big into giving each other gifts. We make special cards every year made out of computer paper with hand-written notes inside- the most special thing I could get on my birthday. This year, I made myself a present (mind you, most of my “presents” are of the fiber arts persuasion so I can make more fancy things…thanks for the set of dyes mom and dad : ). So on Saturday I broke out the plywood and jigsaw and built myself a small, table-top loom. I tied the yarn to it this afternoon and will show you the scarf later this week. Oh, and I’ll show you the pictures of the loom making process…
  • I received my order of silk fabric in the mail today- another exciting thing on my birthday. I will be dyeing it to be used to make hybrid felted scarves (I use alpaca fleece and felt it to the silk so the silk ends up all puckery and wonderful). Again, stay tuned and I’ll show you pictures later this week.
  • Thank you mom and dad for having me and raising me the way you did! I had so many wonderful years and fun experiences on the farm (and some not so wonderful experiences) that I wouldn’t trade for the world! I love you both so very much…

I do believe that’s about it for now…again, thank you everyone for the birthday wishes and for tuning in to my blog! Most days I still feel like I’m 22… Also, today’s scarf will be up in a few minutes….

