Yep. The day has come.

I am doing it. I am quitting my day job to be an artist. Well, to try my hand at supporting myself (and husband and Mr. Kitty) as an artist. I suppose I’ve been an artist for a while now; contributing to our family monetarily as an artist is another story. So, here’s the scoop…

If you should like to skip the story and just see what it is I am making and offering- please click here…

I’ve been working on an alpaca ranch for the better part of 9 months, feeding the animals, cleaning their pens (yes, scooping poop), portioning out their hay, feeding again, training the youngsters, and helping out with herd maintenance. Occasionally one could find me down in the concrete floor with a jackhammer in hand, or down in a muddy trench up to my knees replacing waterline, but all with a smile on my face. That smile came from getting to know what an alpaca was, and getting to spend nine months observing, talking to, and squishing these wonderful creatures. As an artist perpetually drawn to texture and color, I have discovered in alpacas a luxurious and deliciously soft natural fiber. Now, I am not the first to make this discovery, on the contrary, many, many people know how wonderful alpaca fiber is, and they know the wonderful things one can do with alpaca fiber. This is where I come in; I have jumped head first into the great bag of fleece! My goal is to bring you quality hand-woven, spun, and felted items for you to enjoy on a daily basis. Quality as in heirloom quality; soft and special and one-of-a-kind. Made especially for you.

Why alpaca fiber? For one, it is hypoallergenic- it contains no lanolin to irritate skin. It is also softer than wool- goodbye itchy sweaters and scarves! It takes dye wonderfully with bright, vibrant colors as a result. Did I mention it’s soft?

If I haven’t lost you yet, please be my guest and visit my online store. If you like what you see, please let me know. I would love to hear your thoughts and ideas! Also, I would be more than willing to follow an idea that you have and create something completely unique just for you- say a shawl dyed in your favorite color, or with a few accent stripes to match your wedding colors. The possibilities are endless…

Please, be my guest at my online store… www.camelhairandhoney.etsy.com …and check back frequently for new items!

…and enjoy this picture of my favorite little alpaca: Ty.

